Must have books for being Lost on a deserted island

IMG_2200

I’m using the prompt Top Ten books I’d want on a desert island by Top Ten Tuesday. Though this is an old prompt and not this weeks, but who follows the rules? The answer : not me obviously.

So after just finishing six seasons of Lost , I thought hey if I was on a deserted island I would definitely be lost and in need of reading material just like Sawyer. Plus I wanted an excuse to use my  Pop Lost characters, because they are adorable am I right?!? Of course I am.

So these are the top ten books I have read and would bring and why.

  1. The Bible : My bible goes on every trip with me so chances are if I had nothing else I would have it.
  2. Cross Roads by WM. Paul Young : I cannot recommend this book enough. It is so good and I would definitely want it with me on an island.
  3. I am the Great Horse by Katherine Roberts : I haven’t read this book in forever but I remember it so fondly. I was obsessed with horses when I was younger (still am actually), and I love that the story of Alexander the Great is told in such a unique voice; that of his war horse.
  4. Eagles Flying High by Linda Rae Rao : I don’t like to say I have a favorite book, I mean that’s like asking a mother to pick a favorite child . But if I had to choose, Eagles Flying High would probably win out. Its about the only book I can think of that I have consistently re-read almost every year.
  5. Fairest by Gail Carson Levine : I wasn’t a fan of Ella Enchanted, I didn’t like the book or the movie. But Fairest is a whole different ball game. I loved this book so quickly.
  6. 7. 8. The Ascendance Trilogy by Jennifer A Nielson: The fact that no other series even competed with this one in my mind for a spot says a lot. I mean these books are so Amazing and Sassy that I not only chose them over every other series I own but I gave up three slots just for these precious works of perfection.

     9. The Raven master’s Secret by Elvira Woodruff : So by this point my slots are few and quite frankly I have a horrible memory. I never remember what a book is about, just my feeling towards it. I felt love for this one and remembered I couldn’t put it down once I started reading. Lo’ and behold here it is on the list and on its way to an island.

10. Ekaterina by Susan K. Downs and Susan May Warren :  I read this a year or so ago. It was so good, action, mystery and the romance was so well done I didn’t even twinge at it (Congrats book! You are in a exclusive club with few members).

So those are the Ten books I would bring that I have read. But let’s face it ,if I’m headed to an island (or any destination really) then I’m going to bring more books than probably necessary. That’s why I’m including the Top Five books that I would bring but haven’t read. See there’s always a loophole 🙂

IMG_2202

  1. Homers Odyssey : Quite honestly I’m not sure how I got away with not reading this in school but here we are. It seems interesting and rather long so it should keep me occupied for awhile ……unless I don’t like it to which it will then be used as decoration in the beach hut I will inevitably build ( and furthermore decorate ).
  2. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo : This has been in my TBR pile for awhile, I started it last year but with work I just didn’t have the energy to focus on any book much less one of this size. I have so much hope for this book, I can’t stand it, please don’t fail me.
  3. Thieving Weasels by Billy Taylor : I just ordered this about a month ago .I am so excited for this book, obviously it has to come.
  4. The Beautiful Pretender by Melanie Dickerson :  I love Melanie Dickerson, and a book I haven’t read yet, it’s a yes from me.
  5. Hawksmaid by Kathryn Lasky : I loved Kathryn Lasky growing up and this is a Robin Hood retelling so it’s a must!.

And there you have it, the Top Ten Books I would want on a Island ,and five more because  “Don’t tell me what I can’t do.” ~ John Locke .

Forever & Always,

Emily

Let’s Chat. Would you dare say you have a favorite book? How many books do you usually pack for trips? Anybody else dream about living on a deserted island and having a beach hut?

3 thoughts on “Must have books for being Lost on a deserted island

  1. OHH SIX OF CROWS IS AMAZING.😍 One of my favourite series of all time afjdksald I hope you do get a chance to read it…before you get trapped on a desert island even?😂😂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

