8 Series that I love to pieces

I love series! Don’t get me wrong stand alone books are great and I love and cherish many . Series have the benefit of giving us more time with the characters and can span a longer period of the characters life. I’m that person that wants all the little details about characters that don’t actually matter to the plot but I want them anyway, so meet my unrealistic demands authors.

Below are some of my favorite series, eight to be exact. Why eight, you ask, because my brain functions in a manner like this :

Me: I should write a blog post with 10 series, you know like a normal blogger.

Brain: But, like, what if you didn’t. You should do 8.

Me: Good point in all but nah.

Brain: Funny, like you had a choice, I said 8. For no apparent reason I like that number today.

Me: awesome. 8 it is.

A rare glimpse into my life of weirdness. By the way people who say they don’t have internal monologue running all day, seriously how do you live?? I blame being a writer as to why I talk to myself non stop.

IMG_1991

1. The Heist Society by Alley Carter.

I should probably be worried at the amount of books with criminals that I adore, but I’m not. These books are awesome. I originally “borrowed” Perfect Scoundrels from my sister, she never got it back (sorry hope you’re not to upset about the loss). Reading the third book first had me addicted and needing all the background stories. I love the characters and while some of them are a little clichΓ© , the over all story and family dynamic made up for it.

IMG_1996

2. The Lost Books series by Ted Dekker

These are the best when it comes to being fast paced, action packed, and the ultimate good verses evil. While Chosen and Elyon ( the book on top) are my favorite, the rest of the series does keep pace. I enjoyed these books so much because of the unique story. It’s set in another world, where evil is on the outside in the form of a skin disease (known as Scabs). Believers wash themselves in the pools of Elyon to prevent the disease. The books center around four teenagers who get chosen to lead the forest guard and also get chosen by Elyon for a secret mission- to find the lost books of history.

I own all hardcover except for #6 Elyon , which I ordered used and didn’t pay attention to the fact that it is a paperback, so its in time out for being the oddball.

IMG_2001

3. Little House On The Prairie By Laura Ingalls Wilder.

 These books shaped my adolescence years, I loved her life and more often then not wished I lived in her era of time. I own all nine of the original and then a bunch of other ones , either written about Laura or her family members.

IMG_2003

4. Hattie Big Sky and Hattie Ever After by Kirby Larson

I loved Hattie Big Sky, its about an orphan girl who gets passed from relative to relative. Then one day she gets the opportunity to strike out on her own and prove up a land claim. It was awesome and I have enjoyed reading it multiple times.

I was super excited for Hattie Ever After. It fell a little flat of my expectations, but was still an enjoyable read. In this book we see Hattie get to pursue a career and romantic relationships.

IMG_2005 2

5. Seasons of the Heart by Janette Oke.

I love Janette Oke books, and I haven’t read one yet that disappointed me. However I do realize that some are a might predictable and can have “fairytale endings “, neither of those bother me enough to turn me away. Seasons of the heart is such an adorable series and centers around a boy named Josh, over the course of the four books you get to experience his first love, his disappointments and all that accompanies growing up.

IMG_2017

6. Eagles Flying High series by Linda Rae Rao.

When I was about 16, I found Eagles Flying High at a thrift store. I bought it because it centered around the Revolutionary War, and History was (and still is ) my favorite subject. I devoured it quickly and had to have the rest. My shy self worked up the courage to ask my librarian if we had the others, my library didn’t but the college library carried it. This was important to my 16 year old self, that I got books from the college library, ahhhh the small things in life.

Anyway My favorite’s are Eagles Flying High and Of Eagles and Ravens , but all of them are beautifully written. All the books center around different members of the family. The family dynamic is so awesome, plus the action and history involved are perfect.

IMG_2018 2

7.  Knightley Academy  series by Violet Haberdasher

My sister bought me Knightley Academy for my birthday many years ago ( or maybe she bought me The Secret Prince, heck if I remember). I love these books because of how Henry in a underdog who takes a chance on a dream and makes it work for himself. The books are wonderful, I loved all the action and mystery. Plus a win for great friendships.

img_2022.jpg

8. The Ascendance Trilogy By  Jennifer A. Neilsen

These books are pure gold, and if you haven’t read them I urge you to consider what you are doing with your life (the answer is failing, so go read them). I cannot say enough about how good these books are, and it boils down to SASS and SWORDS. Yep those were the main reason I loved this trilogy, because sassy boys who fight with swords and are still adorable cupcakes make my life. All the relationships in these books just worked so well!

So those are my series I suggest you check out all of them to see if they would interest you, because they all have something amazing to offer.

Forever & Always,

Emily

Have you read any of the above series? Any suggestions of some series that I should try? Do you like series or stand alone books better?

2 thoughts on “8 Series that I love to pieces

  1. Oh I loved False Prince!! I’m so annoyed with myself for not having read the whole trilogy though!?? But that first book was HILARIOUS and I must re-read and finish them!! I also love crime novels. πŸ˜‚ Anything with heists in it = I am soooo there and no regrets. I should probably be worried about myself but yet??? *clamours for all the theft novels* πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

    I loved your list!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

