The lucky few by Heather Avis

I got to read and review this thanks to Netgalley . 

 This book is about the beautiful adoption journey that Heather and her husband Josh go through. They adopted three children, two with Down syndrome. 

 Agh where to start with this book! I think one of the main reasons I loved it was how truthful Heather is about it all. She’s not trying to lie and say their decision to adopt beautiful babies with Down syndrome was easy or that she was eager to . This book is raw and brutally honest, you cannot read this book and walk away unchanged. 

 Heather challenges the worlds view of a normal family and she does it with the grace of God. I love every detail of how far this family came. 

We start the book finding out that Heather is unable to bear children ( she walks through the emotions that accompany such news), then we get to see the couple  say yes to God and adopt their first child with Down syndrome Macyn Hope. 

 Next comes their spirited daughter Truly Star ( I love these names by the way). Truly tests Heather in a different way than Macyn had, and Heather grows not only as a mom but as a person because of it. 

Just when Heather thinks her plate is full and their family complete, she gets the call for another baby with Down syndrome . With another yes to God their family grows with the addition of August Ryker. 

This book will leave you feeling empowered  to view “different ” families as normal in their own way and amazing.

When I was younger I wanted 7 children . Then I was around kids and still being a kid myself (technically a teenager) that dream kinda faded. Last year I worked at a daycare with a lot of foster children and lower income families. I soon realized that while I may want 7 children I didn’t have to give birth to all of them. Seeing so many children in need of a loving home, made me want to give them that. While I don’t know what my future holds, I do know that adoption will be an option for me and my future husband. After reading The lucky few, I would consider it a privilege to not only adopt but to be open to saying yes to whatever God has planned.


Forever & Always,

Emily

Let’s chat – would you be open to adoption? How about foster care? How many children do you want/ have?

Leave a Reply

