The Huntress Of Thornbeck Forest By Melanie Dickerson


A beautiful maiden who poaches to feed the poor.

A handsome forester on a mission to catch her.

Danger and love are about to unite in Thornbeck Forest.

The margrave owns the finest hunting grounds for miles around—and Odette Menkels spends her nights poaching his deer to feed the hungry orphans of Thornbeck. By day , Odette is a simple maiden who teaches children to read, but by night this young beauty has become the secret lifeline to the poorest of the poor.

For Jorgen Hartman, the margrave’s forester, tracking down a poacher is a duty he is all too willing to perform. Jorgen inherited his post from the man who raised him . . . a man who was murdered at the hands of a poacher.

When Jorgen and Odette meet at the Midsummer festival and share a connection during a dance, neither has any idea that they are already adversaries.

The one man she wants is bound by duty to capture her; the one woman he loves is his cunning target . . . What becomes of a forester who protects a notorious poacher? What becomes of a poacher when she is finally discovered?

 Do you ever read a book and can’t contain your excitement about it , so you make someone listen to you ramble. Because that’s what I did with this book. My mother and sister can probably tell you all about it without ever picking the book up. That’s how good The Huntress Of Thornbeck Forest was. 

 Now to tell you about it (without spoilers) 

What I loved :

  • The plot was so well written, maybe a bit predictable in some aspects but also had a few surprises . 
  • Everything about Jorgen,I just love his character. He’s strong , brave , kind , smart and compassionate.
  • It’s fair to say I don’t like a ton of female characters and yet Odette passed my approval and I love her as much as Jorgen. She’s a strong woman who has her own opinion and finds a way to solve a problem nobody else even acknowledges . Plus she teaches the poor children to read and write, giving them all a chance at a better future. 
  • Character back stories are awesome! I can’t say much with out spoiling it, just know that both Odette and Jorgen’s backstories plays a huge role in the whole book and I loved it.
  • Hello flawed characters who are still good people!
  • The “bad guys” stay in role the whole time, and aren’t very remorseful at the end which is different from what I usually read. I liked it though, I know a few people who would be in the wrong and still not show remorse so it felt very realistic. 
  • Happy endings are my favorite! I’m sorry but I do not get emotionally invested in characters just to be disappointed at the end, I don’t want realistic. If I wanted that I would watch the news . Lucky for me Melanie Dickerson read my mind and gave me what I wanted 😉 

 I have nothing bad to say about this book. I loved it! Five stars!
Forever & Always

Emily

Comment below if you have read The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest? Have you read anything else by Melanie Dickerson? What’s your favorite fairytale retelling?

Leave a Reply

