Never Never by Brianna R Shrum

img_1587

James Hook is a child who only wants to grow up.

When he meets Peter Pan, a boy who loves to pretend and is intent on never becoming a man, James decides he could try being a child – at least briefly. James joins Peter Pan on a holiday to Neverland, a place of adventure created by children’s dreams, but Neverland is not for the faint of heart. Soon James finds himself longing for home, determined that he is destined to be a man. But Peter refuses to take him back, leaving James trapped in a world just beyond the one he loves. A world where children are to never grow up.

But grow up he does.

And thus begins the epic adventure of a Lost Boy and a Pirate.

This story isn’t about Peter Pan; it’s about the boy whose life he stole. It’s about a man in a world that hates men. It’s about the feared Captain James Hook and his passionate quest to kill the Pan, an impossible feat in a magical land where everyone loves Peter Pan.

Except one.

Before I start the review, can we all just take a moment to appreciate this cover!! I rarely fall in love with covers, books yes, covers not so much . This was so well done and honestly the only reason I kept the book. Now on to the review.

What I Liked :

  • The Cover is obviously amazing, I love the detail, like the clouds being shaped as a skull, or the hooks and feathers. So much love.
  • I really enjoyed reading the story from Hooks perspective
  • The way dreams worked in Neverland was pretty neat.
  • James Hook’s relationship with the lost boys, before and after he becomes a pirate.

What made me so very disappointed:

  • The romance was more than I expected or wanted.
  • Hook’s goals were weak,  he wants to kill Pan and every chance he gets he either chooses not to or loses. I expected more gumption and less self-pity .
  • Tiger Lily’s back and forth , I love you, I love Pan. Just didn’t work for me.

I started reading ” Never Never” with expectations of loving it. That’s probably what set me up for not loving it. Don’t get me wrong it’s not a bad book, it just wasn’t  what I had anticipated. Probably the biggest draw back for me was the romance and the dominance it had in this book. I came for an adventure and what I got was two hormonal young adults.

Two stars.

Forever & Always,

Emily

Comment below if you have read “Never Never” and if so what did you think? Anybody else always wanted to be a pirate ? Comment books you expected to love but didn’t.

 

One thought on “Never Never by Brianna R Shrum

Leave a Reply

